$150.00 Pawn Shop find

Status
Not open for further replies.

bshinn

Reaction score
Hi guy's noob here from the Charlotte area.

Any idea what I might have on my hands here? Sticker on the SW hub said Cobra 450XL.

5hp Briggs flathead when I brought it home, & according to the S/N it was manuf in 80. 3/4" live axle with 4" band brake, #41 chain.

Poured some gas down the carb, & it started on the 2nd pull. Discovered the shaft was boogered up when I went to replace the clutch, So swapped it for a 212cc Preaditor.

Currently under a restomod for the kids Christmas present, will post some more pix. BTW on the off chance it might be worth something in orig condition, :lolgoku: nothing I did cant be reversed.

Attachments

• kart1.jpg
    kart1.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 76
  • kart2.jpg
    kart2.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 75
  • kart3.jpg
    kart3.jpg
    95.1 KB · Views: 62
  • kart4.jpg
    kart4.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 48

bshinn

Reaction score
Here are a few of the work in progress:

Attachments

• after4.jpg
    after4.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 45
  • after3.jpg
    after3.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 68
  • after2.jpg
    after2.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 46
  • after1.jpg
    after1.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 54

Nodroz

Reaction score
Awesome job! The kids will be happy if they get this for their christmas. :D

I love these gokarts, simple, effective and looking awesome!

mr.matt

Reaction score
Sweet! Very clean looking from the pics, good find. Did you re-upholster the seat or buy new? Looks good either way!

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
Have a very close look at the pedals, and see if there's anything stamped on them. At least SOME Clark pedals actually say Clark Mfg on the sides.

soggycrashed

Reaction score
Cool! I have no idea how you will keep your kids from seeing the kart (By the way sexy TL in the background)