To speed or not to speed.....this is my first build

Status
Not open for further replies.

adsum

Reaction score
Saturday starts the first day of my adventure. Im planning on running the kart a few times around the parking lot before I decide what I want to do with it. Im torn between a 600cc swap, building the internals of the Tecumseh power sport thats already attached to the kart or swapping out that for a 250cc dirtbike motor. :stir:

My goals:
-reach speeds of at least 60-70mph
-build a reliable and safe kart
-build it right. Nothing peace mealed. Do it once and do it right (to the best of my knowledge)

Motor ideas:
-4 stroke 250cc dirtbike motor
-600cc Yamaha r6 motor $450 comes with only ECU. No harness
-Tecumseh 6 hp motor (build internals and change the gearing, remover governer?)
-Predator series motor 220cc or greater with built internals and change of gearing
:auto:

Attachments

• _IMG_20141007_233953.jpg
    _IMG_20141007_233953.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 68
  • _IMG_20141007_234034.jpg
    _IMG_20141007_234034.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 64
  • _IMG_20141007_234118.jpg
    _IMG_20141007_234118.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 65
  • _IMG_20141007_234425.jpg
    _IMG_20141007_234425.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 63
  • _IMG_20141007_234450.jpg
    _IMG_20141007_234450.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 79

KartFab

Reaction score
That kart already has a sweet setup. Performance intake/exhaust and a torque converter. Should be able to take it to 40 mph with no problem the way it is. Have you checked the governor yet? Making a direct throttle and removing the governor will get you closer to your goal.

I'm not a fan of tecumseh engines, and other people can chime in about it as they seem to be alright. I have had the worst carb trouble and weird power issues when accelerating with all tecumseh engines I have owned.

adsum

Reaction score