Best predator 212 mods

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shax90

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to building karts and mini bikes and was curious on what mods you recommend for me to make with my predator 212 I'm building a mini bike.

JTSpeedDemon

2019 Build Off Winner!
Reaction score
This article sums it up pretty well: https://affordablegokarts.com/pages/performance-basics

The few things I would like to point out:
- Do NOT upgrade the valve springs unless you upgrade the connecting rod and flywheel.
-An offset timing key is not needed with an ARC billet aluminum flywheel.
-An offset key is usually not needed until you're revving really high, it can be counterproductive if you over-advance the timing, causing detonation.
-None of the stuff other than high flow exhaust/air filter/carburetor rejetting will matter if you keep the governor in, it will just be a waste of money, but it will also limit speed a lot.
-Do NOT bypass the governor. I know it's tempting to simply change the throttle linkage and get ~1600 RPM more, but that plastic governor gear was never meant to spin that fast, and it is very possible that it could fail, causing a lot of very preventable damage. If you want extra RPM, you'll have to open the crankcase.

If you follow all that, you should be OK!:thumbsup:

KartFab

Reaction score
depends on how fast you want it. Keep it stock and do a stage 1. If you remove governor, you should do flywheel rod, springs, and throw a decent cam in there for good fun.

Shax90

Reaction score
This article sums it up pretty well: https://affordablegokarts.com/pages/performance-basics

The few things I would like to point out:
- Do NOT upgrade the valve springs unless you upgrade the connecting rod and flywheel.
-An offset timing key is not needed with an ARC billet aluminum flywheel.
-An offset key is usually not needed until you're revving really high, it can be counterproductive if you over-advance the timing, causing detonation.