2017 - Model 285 Restoration and Upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

Slackjumper

Angle Grinder Surgeon
Reaction score
So I have been checking CL every so often for the past 3 years for a go kart project. I grew up modifying a racing kart, and just loved it. In college I had a Roketa GK-44 that I purchased for the frame, CVT and motor. I eventually had it reliable after several ATV parts. Though I liked the gk-44, it was heavy and really left me wanting to go back to a simpler/elegant design. Something small, light, with decent power & clearance too. I don't have time for all it takes to learn to fab a good frame and steering, at least one that I would approve of (like Theo's kart) so I decided to start with a good pre-manufactured frame again.

I found an older Dingo (Baja?) model 285 with a non-working Tecumseh 8hp on Portland-CL for $160. Not a steal but I was loosing time to procrastination.

It came with a 30 series driven pulley and jackshaft. Also came with an older non-working 8hp Tecumseh. He had purchased new pedal springs and a throttle cable, but apparently lost interest or the time for it. The red peeling paint had been applied over the original black powder coat. The front cage bars are also custom; galvanized conduit, welded in what I can say is the worst weld joints I have ever seen. And I'm not a good welder at all. The band brake is ok, but had some poor modification done which makes the pad not aligned properly with the drum. The seat is ok, but needs a new board as the original has rotted. The gas tank mount is crap, and location, ...hmmmmm, we'll see about that. Front tires are nearly bald, rears are in good shape. The engine mount had been modded at some point, with layered weld joints that look like crap but are strong.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    649 KB · Views: 62

Slackjumper

Angle Grinder Surgeon
Reaction score
Engines