Wanna be

Status
Not open for further replies.

PanelDeland

Reaction score
Hey gang, thanks for the add. A little about me and then maybe some of you can give some guidance. I'm a semi-retired maintenance mechanic and a pretty big fella at 280 and 6 ft. Well tooled up. I'm wanting a ride to bash around the neighborhood on/in. I was thinking a cart frame (no roll cage) and maybe 20-25 mph and a budget of around 5 Benjamins (more over time for accessories. I also probably need to be able to run "part throttle" on the level and pull some slight hills in my area.. I also have bad knees and a mediocre back at 60+ so easy in/out would be a plus. I'm thinking bigger wheels/tires and an off road stance. Not looking to race, just have fun. Am I crazy? Probably but I refuse to go to a head Dr. and be diagnosed. Suggestions on frames, clutches and street tires would be greatly appreciated.

Tpdingo

Reaction score
You crazy? **** no! The people who are crazy are the ones saying you can't have fun for buying a go kart!

Ok, you want a easy to get into, big tire cruiser that can get up light hills.

Well just make sure you want a kart because an ATV will fit this category for getting into a bit better as one foot over and the straddle seat would probably be easier for you to get into.

Ok, fine, say you don't want an ATV. You are probably going to want to look into a late-90s to early '00s off-road suspension kart. They are usually quite a few inches off the ground compared to butt on the ground yardkarts. Yerf-dog and Mancos are good ones, but there are many brands. You can get a rolling frame for ~100$ if you look around. Look for ones with 5-6HP motors. They will be the cheapest to work on. (100$ for a 6.5HP motor vs 300$ for a 13HP motor)