Torque Converter Driven Pulley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darian1m

Reaction score
Hello, go kart noob here. I bought a cool go kart and am trying to make it ride able again. It burns through belts like crazy so I am trying to get down to what the issue is. First I am simply trying to take it apart and give it a good cleaning as there are fragments of kevlar from the belts left over in the pulley.

So here it is, how do I remove the driven pulley? It just spins when I put a wrench to it. See pic below, any help would be appreciated! thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20150626_110258 (1).jpg
    IMG_20150626_110258 (1).jpg
    189.4 KB · Views: 23

itsid

Staff member
Reaction score
burning through belts is likely a gearing issue.

A rusted sheave will not exactly help, I agree;

Grant made a great video to provide help cleaning your series 40

watch it closely prior starting tearing your's apart. (multiple times to let sink things in ;))

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3FCcLlR-sg

still, it might not be the TC at all.
weight wheelsize and teethcount on your sprockets could help us to verify your ratio (it might need to be changed)

'sid

itsid

Staff member
Reaction score
still, it might not be the TC at all.
weight wheelsize and teethcount on your sprockets could help us to verify your ratio (it might need to be changed)

'sid

Ahaa.. from your other thread

Two seater
12 HP engine
9 sproket gear behind the driven unit
54 sproket gear at wheel axle
22" wheels

there you go, even a 12hp engine will not push that weight on a 6:1 gear ratio with 22" tall wheels

keep in mind that your kart weighs ~300 lbs alone,
and has a max capacity of 550 lbs (that means you and whoever sits next to you must not exceed 250 lbs combined!!)

then (550 lbs total weight) 6.6:1 ratio is what you're going to need to save the belts from frying up.

So either, get a bigger axle sprocket (60 Teeth)
OR get a set of smaller wheels (20" should do already; 18" would be better of course ;))