Starting a project...

Status
Not open for further replies.

vw_buggsy

Reaction score
Hi folks!

I am starting a go kart project for my daughter, who is 7 so I think it's about time. I bought a fiberglass body and a tube frame for this project years ago with the intention to build it out once I thought she was old enough to really use it. I think she's old enough now to have to coordination and bravery needed to tear around in it.

I'm a shade-tree who usually works on old Volkswagens, beetles dunebuggies and buses. I (and my wife) have several. So I know how to wrench and how to weld but I've never built a go kart before. In fact I've never even owned one, so I'm sure I'll have several questions!

I found this site after watching a great YouTube video but "T-Mans Go Karts" that described the differences between dead axles, live axles, and differentials on go karts which mentioned this site. That was helpful.

The project is a fiberglass kart body that I bought at a VW show that looks like an old Meyers Manx Buggy. I also bought a tube frame for it at the same time. I procured a Manco (freebie from a buddy) two-seater go kart frame too in order to rob it for parts. Pics will follow once I figure out how!

I had thought maybe I'd just mount the body onto the Manco but then figured out that the Manco has only one wheel drive. This will be driven mostly off-road so I'm thinking live axle is the way to go, though I'm worried about her being able to steer if the steering is tight, but I reckon she'll figure it out or grow into it.

I'm hoping to have the project done by Christmas, so I think I'll actually enter the 2018 build competition. I might as well.

All the best to you and yours,
Buggsy

I am attempting to upload pics of my project...

Attachments

• Starting_Point.jpg
    Starting_Point.jpg
    711 KB · Views: 6
  • Manco_Donor.jpg
    Manco_Donor.jpg
    688.8 KB · Views: 3
  • Tube_Frame.jpg
    Tube_Frame.jpg
    769.4 KB · Views: 5
  • Body.jpg
    Body.jpg