So have a very unorthodox question regarding upgrading from a Pred 212 to 420

Rentalbeef

Reaction score
Hi there folks! Newbie here and because the situation is so odd I'm not sure there's a concrete answer for it so all best guesses and advice welcome! I've been using this site liberally for help building this so I'm just starting here asking around. So we built a artcar for Burning Man this year and it's using a Predator 212 combined with a torque converter AND a F/R gear box. It's geared down incredibly low because speed limit is usually 5 MPH so really just need the torque to get it moving!

1694227852360.png

The problem were running in to is after about 5-10 minutes of driving around at 5 MPH you can hear the CVT belt start to whine and it's on the way to exploding. It's definitely aligned properly but I feel the real problem is the amount of weight it has to push and we're just too heavy for it to handle. Here's what it looks like fully put together. If you combine the weight of 2 passengers plus the art, we probably gain a additional 500 lbs. We did get a bigger sprocket that we were gonna switch to to adjust the gearing to see if that helps first.

1694229272085.png
1694228202224.png

So my question is do you folks feel upgrading to a Pred 420 and it's upgraded chonkier torque converter setup is powerful enough to solve our problems with what seems to be potential overloading! It is over double the power and like I said, we only need our top speed to be 5 MPH. Or is there maybe a better engine solution period! A GY6 was what was originally in this thing well over a decade ago, maybe that may work better? I'm sure I'm leaving out important info y'all might need to answer the question so ask away and I'll get it back to you asap!

panchothedog

Reaction score