Random unknown kart

Status
Not open for further replies.

Potato

newbie kart builder
Reaction score
hey guys, I'm building a kart, i have never tried before, and will probably screw a lot of things up, but here is what I have to begin with:
a 5hp Briggs and Stratton
a random unknown frame
a steering column out of a ford something
and some extra tubing to widen the frame.

Attachments

• IMAG0053.jpg
    IMAG0053.jpg
    65.7 KB · Views: 20
  • IMAG0056.jpg
    IMAG0056.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 18
  • IMAG0057.jpg
    IMAG0057.jpg
    88.8 KB · Views: 47
  • IMAG0058.jpg
    IMAG0058.jpg
    45.3 KB · Views: 19

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
That's certainly a very unique-looking frame. From where did you procure that? I think at some point you may find the need to structurally reinforce that. I think it might want to twist.

Either way, this will be very interesting, and unconventional. I like that.

Potato

newbie kart builder
Reaction score
I received this frame from my auto shop teacher, who had it sitting around and was going to throw it out, however I stepped in and saved the day by saying I would keep it, I understand that I have a LOT of work to do, and yes it is very unconventional, and its also kinda twisty just by hand, so I definitely need to reinforce it, luckily I got more tubing to go with it :D

also, how do I make a pull-start into an electric start?
need help with that...

Oxymoron

Newbesque builder.
Reaction score
Easiest way to do an electric start, is stick a drill on it with the right size socket for the flywheel, and pull the trigger.

... but I know that's not what you meant.

There are 120V, and battery powered start kits for those engines. There's a LOT more involved in doing one powered by a battery. More than just drilling and tapping some holes to mount a starter.