Purchased a Used kart. Need advice

Jclamb2929

Reaction score
I just picked this kart up knowing it needed work($175). Its a road boss cobra I think.. with a new predator engine that is uninstalled. Guy said it used to have a Briggs on it. He bought the predator but he didn’t have time. I’m a total newb when it comes to working on these. A few things I noted when checking it out after I got home was the clutch moves in and out about a 1/4 inch. And the back tires have a little wobble. Not bad but it is noticeable. A little research says I can shim the clutch? And as far as the back tires, Is it too bad to need new axel. It’s not terrible but noticeable. Just want to make sure it works safely for my kids. I still need to get some new tires and possibly replace the brake as well. I tried to include videos but it seems I cannot or I haven’t figured it out yet? Thanks!

Denny

Canned Monster
Reaction score
Pictures work good too. The play in the clutch may be normal. Just oil the bronze bushing in the center every 2 hours of use. I would not worry about a slight wobble but anything over 1/4” would concern me. Get it running and try it out first.

Jclamb2929

Reaction score
Pictures work good too. The play in the clutch may be normal. Just oil the bronze bushing in the center every 2 hours of use. I would not worry about a slight wobble but anything over 1/4” would concern me. Get it running and try it out first.
Thank you Denny. I got the motor put on and it works great. The sprockets don’t line up good though. I’m going to take a look on my next day off hopefully. I spent several hours with it today. Learned a good bit too. Here’s some photos. 2 of the pics show the unalignment and play in the clutch. The other shows how the axel sprocket looks worn like the chain was running out? Thanks!

Attachments

• B51C00DD-5646-40A9-8000-C60C17931421.jpeg
    B51C00DD-5646-40A9-8000-C60C17931421.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 22
  • 745BECC8-8762-4DCC-BF55-098BC4EF0A75.jpeg