Old Briggs problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldskool

Reaction score
Great site! I am a newbie and having a couple of problems with my 8 hp starter recoil. The spring keeps unwinding and not recoiling like it should, so I had a local shop fix it, but lo and behold it came unwinded again. After alot of frustration I decided against my better judgement to cut off that portion off the blower housing and try something other than the spring. My question is, is there any other (Cheap) option of fixing my starting problems? Does briggs have a cup design or something? Any info would be appreciated.

IHcubguy

just a member
Reaction score
:iagree:and i think its called a starter recoil clutch. take it apart and use brake cleaner to remove any gunk! use a very very light lube, should be done once every year or during tune-ups, maybe it's grabbing while the engine is running and not spinning free like 1992suburban said! Northern has a recoil for $60.00 bolts right on if nothing else works!

oldskool

Reaction score
Got it running