Off Road Kart build - 1st ever project

Status
Not open for further replies.

tombarr247

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

My names Tom and I'm from Ireland.

This is just a thread on the build of my off-road Kart!
It's my first ever attempt at a kart (or metal working at all really), so all info, help, and constructive criticism is welcomed! (please don't slate me though, i'm still learning!).
I started building a few months back, and between work, college and trying to find parts, progress is slow, but somewhat existent.

I've been scrolling and searching through this site since I began building, for hints and tips. and as a member suggested, here I am creating my own build thread to show you guys what I've got so far!

I have a 13hp Wiltec honda clone engine, and am breaking an old track kart for parts.
If you are wondering about the steering arrangement, I didnt want to have the column between the legs!

Attachments

• gokart.jpg
    gokart.jpg
    81.9 KB · Views: 50
  • gokart1.jpg
    gokart1.jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 38
  • gokart2.jpg
    gokart2.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 32
  • gokart3.jpg
    gokart3.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 42
  • gokart4.jpg
    gokart4.jpg
    97.7 KB · Views: 34
  • gokart5.jpg
    gokart5.jpg
    105 KB · Views: 29
  • gokart6.jpg
    gokart6.jpg
    96.5 KB · Views: 28
  • gokart7.jpg
    gokart7.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 37
  • gokart8.jpg
    gokart8.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 27
  • gokart9.jpg
    gokart9.jpg
    123.2 KB · Views: 26

chris_the_poser

Reaction score
Looks like you have a good start going Tom. That's the first I've seen steering setup that way I'm curious to see how it works. You might need to brace the top of the shocks more I'm not certain but maybe a piece from the top up to the roll cage should work. Like I said tho wait for someone else to chime in I'm by no means an expert on this. Keep up the good work I can't wait to see what other ideas you will bring to the table

OzFab

Reaction score