newbie with a 3.5 briggs

Status
Not open for further replies.

frazzled

Reaction score
first - i'm very new to any of this, so i apologize up front.

i'm trying to put together a kart for my kids and have a 3.5 briggs off of a used tiller i bought for $50 - i think it is a 1991. i was told the motor was a replacement for the tiller and the way the throttle/choke linkages were converted work for the tiller, but not a kart (attached). out of confusion, i drilled a hole in the butterfly, added a bike cable for the linkage and a return spring on the carb to get the butterfly back to idle (i can provide a pic if needed). it seems to work, but my concern is that it negates the governor spring and i want to be sure doing that won't cause some major issue or hurt the kids if he spring is not attached/able to function - any ideas?

also, the kart has i guess a jackshaft with a pulley at the engine end. the motor has a pulley still attached from the tiller. i understand that i should get a clutch, otherwise it takes off as soon as the engine starts - unless someone knows how to do it otherwise. i found a pulley clutch at northern tool for about the same money as converting to chain and somehow converting the jackshaft to a gear - any ideas on this clutch or is it not worth it? is there any benefit to going chain vs. belt? safety issues with either?

thanks for your help.

Attachments

• spring 2011 057.jpg
    spring 2011 057.jpg
    102 KB · Views: 19

frazzled

Reaction score
thanks for the link to that post, that last pic might be just what i need. here are some other pics. of the motor, throttle connection and jackshaft. appreciate your thoughts and insight.

Attachments

• go kart forum 010.jpg
    go kart forum 010.jpg
    101.6 KB · Views: 20
  • go kart forum 011.jpg
    go kart forum 011.jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 13
  • go kart forum 012.jpg
    go kart forum 012.jpg
    110.1 KB · Views: 15

frazzled

Reaction score
clutch barely engaging?