Newbie here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

fukugmo

Reaction score
Hey all! I just purchased my first kart at age 40 something and so excited to dive headfirst into the hobby. This is a dream come true for me. I always loved driving karts and now have one to call my own.

My new toy!

http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/picture.php?albumid=1140&pictureid=7561

I believe I have an entry level kart (Promokart w/ 3.5HP Tecumseh) and purchased because I loved the NASCAR body (not the Team and couldnt find a Mopar) and the condition was amazing for what I believe is a 13 year old kart. It was obviously garage kept and used very sparingly. Starts cold on 1 pull.

Any other Promokart owners out there? Any insight on Promokarts?

I plan on tinkering and modifying as much as possible, failing at times and learning all I can in the process. I believe I can learn much from the members on here and hope this kart is my stepping stone to other, faster, more sophisticated karts but ya gotta start somewhere, right? Another goal is to get my son into kart racing as he has a real need for speed at age 4 and IMHO has demonstrated impressive steering and skid out control with his Peg Perego Polarus since he first drove at age 2. I cant drive down the road without him saying "faster faster" or "can you pass that car"? May other things make me believe he has some talent and certainly the heart for competitive racing. Ever see a 4 year old refuse to let an 8 year old pass him on a pedal car track?

I connected with qtband and am so thankful for his help so far.