My Other Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

n3480h

Reaction score
Two more years and this will be flying. It is a plans-built Sonerai IILS, not a kit. Bought the plans, a lot of 4130 steel tube, a lot of aluminum and engine components. It is a 2 seat aircraft that cruises ~150mph. Also building the engine, a 2287cc VW, highly modified for aircraft use. Wings are all aluminum. Fuel burn is about 4.5 gallons per hour. Just so no one worries too much, I've been a pilot since 1998, and have flown everything from a high performance aerobatic single seat biplane to a 6 passenger twin. The smaller planes are far more fun.

Attachments

• Sonerai 9-25-2014sm.jpg
    Sonerai 9-25-2014sm.jpg
    357.4 KB · Views: 13
  • normal_Pilot_s_View_6-14-12.jpg
    normal_Pilot_s_View_6-14-12.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 12

mckutzy

Reaction score
That's pretty cool, I don't have much love for flying, but still that's cool.
However... I had and still think on what it would take to build an autogiro, don't ask me why, it's still an aircraft.
I think those are the coolest "planes" around.
Good work.

Denny

Canned Monster
Reaction score
Ain't that what Buddy Holley's pilot told him just before take off. :eek: "Don't worry I'm a good pilot". Yea but are you a good fabricator and engineer? :lolgoku:

Oops you fed the troll!

Denny
:feedtroll:

n3480h

Reaction score
Nah, I used JB Weld instead of Oxyacetylene. Bubble gum after I ran out of JB Weld. That way you can sub tubing from a used TV antenna. So when parts come off it'll just be lighter and fly better, right? No need to worry about modulus of elasticity and such.

I are not an engineer, but I slept in a Motel 6 once.

JMINDY

Reaction score
Cool looking project! I have a brother in law who has/is building his own experimental aircrafts. He's a professional pilot for UPS, doing mostly oversea flights between China, Japan and the US. He currently has a plane he is building in his garage (sorry couldn't tell you what it is...).