My gokart (rebuild in process) and deck :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

justinmcdevitt

Reaction score
here's my first post :) with a short story

Well I bought a frame this summer (wanted to build a kart for a few years now)
and lets just say the welds weren't the best (the sad part is I have a welding degree and knew they would not hold up but I drove it any way)
to make a long story short, I kinda lost control of the kart when the steering wheel welds gave way also removing my kill switch, lucky for me my deck was there to stop me (see pictures below)

so I have decided to rebuild the go kart basically from the ground up, I'll post some pictures when I get a chance to take some (I am by no means documenting the build)

My rebuild is basically to scrap the hole kart and start over, I am shorting the wheel base, and stiffing the frame, and not to mention putting proper welds on it. :)

anywho here's the old kart and the wonderful breakaway deck.

and my fav

carolinasled

Reaction score
give us some specs. i know those are golfcart wheels and tires but is that a 6.5 honda clone and are you running a tav2 or clutch? How is the take off?

The reason is i have a front and rear of a clubcar golf cart body and was thinking of building a golf/kart next year.

justinmcdevitt

Reaction score
thats more like a small car the a go kart lol
go big or go home right :)
and I found this guy on the side of the road for $100 (save the engine bought that)
I figure it will work in the snow (and least I hope, and I also plan on getting this guy out on to the lake when it is frozen to do some stupid driving :) and yes I know how it feels to go through the ice, poor quad)

give us some specs. i know those are golfcart wheels and tires but is that a 6.5 honda clone and are you running a tav2 or clutch? How is the take off? The reason is i have a front and rear of a clubcar golf cart body and was thinking of building a golf/kart next year.