mini buggy videos- ATGC update

Status
Not open for further replies.

wingnut

Reaction score
Very nice. It looked like you where able to shift gears on the fly. I didn't think you could do that with a lawn mower transaxle. Every mower I've ever owned would grind the gears if I tried to shift without coming to a complete stop. Is that a feature particular to the pearless transaxle you're using?

ryf

Reaction score
peerless 820 (found in the big boy mower/tractors for plowing and etc)

ummm.. you can shift em all on the fly if you use the clutch like a car and are using a gas pedal, problem with them on mowers has always been the motor speed doesn't change when you try to shift, thus making it much harder to get the gears to mesh....

I drive a tractor trailer for a living and not using a clutch is called slip shifting, very similar technique except I use I use the clutch to take the load of the tranny between gears (not double clutching like they teach in rigs, just like in a car with syncros) the key is figuring out the rpm for the speed and do it with "firm quickness" so you don't miss your points, and yeah I still mess up sometimes, usually downshifting/slowing down

wingnut

Reaction score
ok. So it sounds like the mower trany isn't designed for shifting on the fly but you've developed the skill to do it anyway. Does hat sum it up? I was entertaining using a mower trany on a utility cart for the wife to get around the farm with but I get the impression that shifting will not be something she will want to do regularly.

ryf

Reaction score