Interference Fit - Bearings and Axle

Status
Not open for further replies.

JRMN

Reaction score
I'm working on a project and I am having an axle turned down to 1". I purchased these bearings. The machinist asked me if he could turn down the axle just under 1", that way I can just slide the bearings up to where they need to go rather than having to press them all the way.

I'm new to all this and I'm wondering if someone could explain how it works for go karts. If you have a 1" axle and bearings, how do you press the bearings the length of the axle?

mckutzy

Reaction score
A few tho under is fine, just so it slips on or your going to need to get a puller ever time to move the tire off.

JRMN

Reaction score
Thanks mckutzy. Is there a standard tolerance to go by? If I were to buy an 1" axle and bearings an online shop, would I need to have it turned down or would it already be taken into account? Just wondering what you guys are doing as far as getting your bearings on your axles. Oh and are you talking about a bearing puller, wouldn't that be too short for something like a go kart axle? Most bearing pullers I've seen are about about 6" long.

Scout

Nutjob
Reaction score
buy the parts and see how they fit. What bearings are you buying? have a link?

mckutzy

Reaction score
I'd just first take the bearing and fit it to the shaft you plan to use. If it slides alright no need to do anything, if not, one probably needs to just polish the shaft and mostlikely wil help.
Machine it if it really needs to.

I should have asked earlier, is this for your tires or is this for a live axle setup?

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score