• OFF TOPIC fun forum - NO politics - NO religion - NO jerks. It's not complicated. Thanks!

I want to build a Seven!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick

Reaction score
I dont know how many of you know what a Caterham 7 (or Lotus 7) is so I attached a picture.

Anyways I saw one of these for the first time a few years ago racing at Road Atlanta and I fell in love! My dream is to build my own but my searching hasn't been all that helpful... I cant seem to find any kit dealers. I figured in a great DIY community like this some one would probably know a thing or two about kit cars so what do you think? How do I go about getting a kit in the US? After I get it and build it what do I have to do to get it certified as road legal? (I know that one will be different based on location, currently I live in GA but im a college student so that could change after graduation...)

Thanks for any help you have!

If anyone has a kit car I would love to see it so post pics and some about it/the build!!

Attachments

• Caterham 160.jpg
    Caterham 160.jpg
    126.4 KB · Views: 8

J_Walker

Reaction score
the cars are kind of expensive.. for the only "Decent" powered one 310 BHP [looks like their race type] at $72,000 USD.. OUCH.. you could buy an build an MR2 with top of the line stage 3 parts and still not come close to 72,000..

exenos

Project Nut
Reaction score
You don't need 300hp to go fast with one of these cars. A 150hp 4 banger and 4.10 gears will make it a rocket. Some of them don't even weigh a ton, literally, they are under 2000lbs.

Nick, personally I'd buy the plans and build it completely from scratch yourself instead of paying some one else to cut the material.

OzFab

Reaction score
the cars are kind of expensive.. for the only "Decent" powered one 310 BHP [looks like their race type] at $72,000 USD.. OUCH..