How To run a engine on Methonal and Ethonal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Themurraykart

Reaction score
I have a science fair project and I am building a Mini-bike that runs on 3 fuels. Gasoline,Ethonal, and methonal. Good news is that I have a honda clone 196cc 6.5 hp laying around that I can use. How do I do this? I have access to any tool I need. I just need to know how to do it and how much it will cost...

Thanks.:sifone:

Bluethunder3320

Reaction score
i am not experienced with different types of fuels, but you may need to change the compression ratio. (by adding a flat top piston or head milling or whatever) not too sure about that though.

one thing i know is that you probably will need to change the jetting in the carbeurator because you need way more methanol to run the equivalent gasoline (i think)

and the last thing i think you may need to change is the timing. because those different gasses will burn at different rates.

i am not 100% about any of those... so i hope someone else will chime in here.

Bluethunder3320

Reaction score
i remember that^

so you can put the gas into the engine and it might run but itll be running like crap... lol. it might be a ton of work.

devino246

Official DIYGK Chem Nerd
Reaction score
Also, alcohol is corrosive to aluminum.

Interesting, didn't know that.

As Blue said, the engine needs to be set differently for the different fuels; you wont be able to randomly switch them out. Those "FlexFuel" vehicles you see detect the type of fuel and adjust the timing and a/f mixture to suit.

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
That's quite a tall order. Tell me- were you assigned this task, or did you just dream it up without knowing what you'd be up against?

You might be able to get away with one jet size, and one timing setting, but if it works at all, it will likely run like crap on at least one fuel.