Hey from The Smallest State in The US!

Status
Not open for further replies.

currier35

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!! Have you got any karts or projects you are working on or planning?

We love pics

Yes, I do! I currently have a project kart that runs a little bit rough. The engine backfires when I open the throttle more than about half way. Any thread suggestions would be great! I'll be posting pics when I get home later.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Oxymoron

Newbesque builder.
Reaction score
That's because all of the fuel isn't getting burned during the power stroke, then it gets sucked out during the exhaust stroke into the tailpipe/muffler... where it "pops" (I think).

Have you tried adjusting the mixture screw on the carb?

Don't take that as gospel, I'm still learning about small engines as well. I get a little backfire on my mini bike when I go from WOT to nothing, but only since I removed the muffler and added a pipe. I assume it's because the engine is breathing out better... but I may be wrong :what: :D

currier35

Reaction score
That's because all of the fuel isn't getting burned during the power stroke, then it gets sucked out during the exhaust stroke into the tailpipe/muffler... where it "pops" (I think).

Have you tried adjusting the mixture screw on the carb?

Don't take that as gospel, I'm still learning about small engines as well. I get a little backfire on my mini bike when I go from WOT to nothing, but only since I removed the muffler and added a pipe. I assume it's because the engine is breathing out better... but I may be wrong :what: :D
Thanks for the help!

The carb has no mixture screw. I believe that it's not the original carb for the engine. I feel like I'm going to be forced to buy the original carb for the engine. :mad2: I must say that I am baffled!

OzFab

Reaction score
We can try to solve the problem in this thread or you can start a new thread & leave this one as an intro, up to you...