Help me pick an engine! :D

Status
Not open for further replies.

P@ndem1c

Reaction score
okay i have been looking into buying my first go-kart motor.
i should be looking in junk yards (im going this weekend) but i want to know what i should be looking for. I am a computer programmer. I know nothing about cars. Yet.

Word on the street is that i need a lawn mower engine... but i want a little more kick than your average engine.

My only frame of reference is "Mario Kart" in which 150cc was the fastest level... i know that is not the case, but im not looking to spend over 1k on an engine if i don't have to.

$250.00-$350.00 seemed reasonable (someone please correct me if i'm wrong)
so i started surfing ebay motors. and below you will see what i came up with.

I was hoping to ask the guru's here some questions about my perusing:
Please write a reply if you have ANY answers, or advice. I'm open to any help i can get.
  • Will either of these work for a gokart motor?
  • Is the kick-start a retarded idea?
  • are these powerful enough to let me pull a doughnut?
  • Should i steer clear of these purchases at all costs?
  • Are there hidden costs... like... it doesn't come with some required part?

Please let me know if these could potentially be stupid purchases. Like... if these engines are too weak to push a hotwheel, or if these are the wrong shape or design of engine for practical go-kart use, because they seem fine to me... :ack2:

Here is what looked appealing to me:

NEW 11hp ENGINE REPLACE HONDA BRIGGS KOHLER 2YR WARR.
http://preview.tinyurl.com/23ow9hd
$299.00

150CC GY6 SCOOTER ATV LONG-CASE GOKART ENGINE MOTOR CVT
$168.00
http://preview.tinyurl.com/2cexabj

125cc Semi Automatic Engine W/ Reverse ATV QUAD GOKART
$230.00
http://tinyurl.com/2cjhmbh

THANKS FOR YOUR ADVICE!
-P@ndem1c

T-man

Reaction score