Hello from Indiana

Status
Not open for further replies.

JMINDY

Reaction score
Hello, I recently purchased two go karts for my two oldest sons, who are 10 & 12, plus we just had twin boys this last May. So these karts will get plenty of use for years to come!:rolleyes:

I grew up in a Hot Rod family. I currently have my own backyard shop where I build my cars, have a 55 Chevy and currently building a 1947 Cadillac. This is my first time messing with go karts, but I have the equipment & skills to work on such...

As for the karts I purchased... bought both karts for $400 total. Just by looking at other photos, I believe both are Manco karts. No idea how old they are but both look like they are from the same manufacture. First one is a 2 seater, has a 5 or 6 HP Tecumah engine. It runs and drives well, although a little slow for us Hotrodder types! Just needs a little maintenance.

The second kart is a 1 seater. It also has a Tecumah engine. Was told it just need a new clutch... but a quick inspection shows it needs much more than that.

So the plan... First, the 55 Chevy mention above was my first car, at the age of 9! It is what my father taught me with on how to work on cars. My oldest boys are already been helping dad turn wrenches out in the garage... but these are their karts and they will be doing the work on these (with a little help from dad).

We'll start with the 2 seater. Learn how to do some maintenance and get it running and driving good. They can learn and get the feel of driving a go kart at the slower speeds.

Meantime the 1 seater will be getting a complete rebuild... new paint, new engine, some performance upgrades, and some metal fabrication (both safety and appearance). For a theme, we have decided to go with a midge sprint car feel...add some body panels, some nerf bars & push bar, and give it a racing/number paint scheme. After we finish this kart we'll start on the 2 seater.