Hello, and help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

daddis01

Reaction score
Hi all, I have just obtained a used kart that I want to make usable for my 9 and 6 year old daughters, and it needs a little help. I have zero experience with small engines but managed to get this one running, but still have some questions. I'll try to post pics as well but the questions are:

1. Anyone know if this is a production kart and what brand/era it might be?

2. How do I tell size wheels do I need to buy, specifically how do you know, when you're ordering, if the hub part is going to be too deep? The two front wheels on this kart are Margay and are bent to heck, the rear drive wheel is aluminum and has a big chunk missing, the right rear is a steel wheel and obviously doesn't fit the axle shaft. The axels are all 3 3/4 inches long and all have plenty of threaded axle sticking out with the wheels on except the right rear, which has about 1/4 inch (the kart was used and it didn't come with a nut on that wheel). that seems to be the one spec that they don't give is the depth of the hub of the wheel.

3. This kart has what looks to be an original 5hp Briggs. My question is with regard to the throttle linkage, and perhaps choice of pedals. I don't have any experience to draw upon, but I can tell that whoever attached this linkage was not highly skilled in the "making stuff work" category. I know I want to replace the linkage with new, and have found several sites with kits that look good, but the question is, how do you make the pedal return to it's idle position when the driver takes their foot off the gas. It seems like any spring at the engine side of the cable would be too weak. Any suggestions or common knowledge would be appreciated.