Gearing new kart ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cutters

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to karting and need a little help with my new project. I've recently built a new kart for my kids and i'm up to the gearing part.
I'm using a Honda GX270 (9hp)it has a 6:1 reduction box built in with no clutch and has a 1" output shaft. My axle set up is a 30mm diameter and set up to be a single wheel drive. I'm not after top end speed, as my kids are still young. My rear tyre Diameter is 16".
I was planning on going from my engine to a jack shaft to bring the rev's back up (1:6) then i will fit a max torque 12 tooth #35 pitch to jack shaft and run a 76tooth #35 pitch sprocket on the axle. this would leave me with a drive ratio of 6.3:1
So i guess my question is will this work, without over loading my clutch. Im not at all worried about top speed.the kart will mainley be used in a yard with very little hills...

Any help would be appricated..thank you

Cutters

Reaction score
Unfortunately not.. I looked into this and the reduction box side cover is the same cover used to hold the main crank shaft bearing.....

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
So- haow about sourcing a factory stock "non-reduction" side cover? I'm just thinking that it'll save you some hassle, weight, maintenance, ratiating, mass, etc to eliminate the jackshaft.

Cutters

Reaction score
This would be an option but could get expensive only because the crank shaft would also have to be replaced as it is too short to leave me much of an out put shaft...apart from the hassle of the gearing up again do you think that a 6.3:1 final ratio to 16" rear wheels will be ok? Or will it excessively load up a centrifugal clutch?...
Thank you

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
How young are the kids? Between their age and the clutch, 6:1(ish) may still be too high.