From little kit kart to mini dune buggy

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcook3333

Dean
Reaction score
Well, this is my first time trying this, so let's see how it works. I've got so many good ideas from this forum, that thought I'd post this hoping that someone else may benefit like I did.

I bought this kart early in 2009. We live on a dead-end street, and there was a mini-bike using it, so this thing was a hit. 5 hp briggs, live axle, torque converter- all the right stuff for the job(first picture).
104_0650.jpg

Well, then the ugly bald lady next door must have decided that kids should not have fun on the weekend. In comes the GKCSI - that's go-kart-crime-scene-investigators for those who may have not known. Anyway, no more GK on the street. So... We have places in the area to go offroad, so decided to convert over. Changed out the tires to balloon. When I'd take the kids out, they were reluctant to go off on their own. So I decided to get a 2nd 2-seater kart. Found a manco vortex, which must have been a popular thing at Quality Tractor in the area. I will try to post a separate story on that one. But I knew that it needed a better motor, so I bought a 16hp gx390 clone and took the 6.5 motor from it and put it on this small buggy. That and the tires in this 2nd picture.
104_0750.jpg

We put the 2 karts through their paces this fall. Then did some projects on each through Dec and Jan. For this Kart, I built a rollcage- converted the rear from rigid to a swingarm suspension, put some fenders on the front. In these pictures, you see the thing all torn down ready for paint, then a couple of the re-assembly. In the latter days of the build, the local Safety Officer, who also serves double-duty as spouse, asked for an additional bar... like a door on the side. That plus the padding I hope will make this a very safe ride. The last photo is the fiished product with pads, door, and all.