Carburetor Fabrication?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airious

Reaction score
I have been having a horrible time finding any decent priced carb for my kz400 engine, and am at a standstill until I do :/ My local scrap yard has one that they say "might work" but they want 250.00!!

With that being said, is it possible to take a carb off of something else and use it? If so what would I need to look for/make sure of?

*edit* OK, so I have found at least 1 answer; you can definitely use a carb from something else, but i still am not sure what I need to look for to get a good match up. I have only ever dealt with fuel injected vehicles before, so i apologize on my complete noob-ness on the subject.

What do you need from me to get some guidance on selecting the right carb? I am assuming dimensions, but what dimensions, and anything else?

Last edited:

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
Check the venturi dimensions, that's a good starting point. If the donor engine is of a similar displacement, that's a good sign too. Lastly, you can check the mounting bolt pattern (if applicable, most just mount in rubber boots).

Airious

Reaction score
Thanks, toystory! But I no longer need to go this route; the more i looked into it i found that this probably is not the best idea for my first project, so i expanded my search, and am I glad I did! I found an entire parts bike on craigslist, a good two hour drive, but has everything i need, including a second engine, who knows, just in case :p for 150.00!!!

Cant wait to go pick it up on Monday and get this build started! Pics will be posted on Monday :)

Kaptain Krunch

Pro Junk Collector
Reaction score