Can anyone please give me any tips on my steering.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neal collins

Reaction score
Ive been building this for a few months in my spare time and trying to get the bugs worked out. Im stuck I cant go very fast at all the wheel jerks when I turn and when I try and correct it it jerks the otherway and its hard to steer its my first time building one any advice would really help thanks

Attachments

• 20190617_071233.jpg
    20190617_071233.jpg
    175.8 KB · Views: 49
  • 20190617_071219.jpg
    20190617_071219.jpg
    226.2 KB · Views: 46
  • 20190505_154620.jpg
    20190505_154620.jpg
    257.6 KB · Views: 32
  • 20190505_154608.jpg
    20190505_154608.jpg
    347.2 KB · Views: 41

BigWes

Reaction score
Yea stop before you get killed, your rods are attached attached to the steering shaft wrong making your Ackerman geometry basically backwards. Unless the geometry is played out on the spindles somehow, which I can't see from the photos you will have the exact issues you describe. I thought most of those buggies had rack and pinion steering anyway, that doesn't even look right on there, ask 420racer he messed with buggies

Wes

420Racer

Rip It Up
Reaction score
I'm trying to get a good idea of what I'm looking at here. I have done this before mounting a quad front end to buggys. Did you use the quad steering shaft? It looks like you have extended the tierod mounting position to the shaft out pretty far if I'm seeing it right. If you did it is most likely only taking you a short turn of the steering wheel to turn the wheels. That is not what you want. You would want the tierod connection to be as close as possible to your steering shaft to give you more leverage when turning. Post some more pics of the tierods hooked up so I can see what's going on here.

420Racer

Rip It Up
Reaction score