build a TIG for $300ish

Status
Not open for further replies.

machinist@large

Reaction score
Thought Id share this with you guys.
Not being much of a welder I don't really know how good of an idea this is but its something I would like to try!

http://classicbroncos.com/homemade-welder.shtml

OK, I'm not a licensed electrician, nor an electrical engineer, but I have more than a little welding experience, so here's my first impression of this idea...

How much high amperage DC wiring experience do you have? For the record, I didn't notice/ see anything about stepping up the voltage on the unit, which means you can cut the matl. thickness claims in half for a start; commercial stick/ tig machines usually run an open circuit voltage of 24~29 volts. With only half the voltage, you're going to need double the amperage to do the same size weld.

The idea probably works; the OP indicates that he had researched it somewhere else. Can it be done safely? Probably; it would depend on how much actual high voltage DC experience you have. The big problem I have with it as described is the rinky dink description of the control circuit; using a dimmer switch designed and rated for a LOW AMPERAGE high(er) voltage AC circuit in a HIGH AMPERAGE low voltage DC circuit is an automatic red flag for me.

Another minor grumble is the assumption of the OP that you can pick up the needed gas components cheaply; my issue is, even with my industrial experience, I know that I can't look at a flea bay ad and know that it actually has the parts claimed, let alone if it has the parts I need. To anyone who can, here's a tip of the hat; now, are you willing to guarantee that your recommendations will keep someone else from spending very dear $$$ on a losing bet?

Pat

machinist@large

Reaction score