30 series torque converter tuning questions

pghp8ntballer

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am new to karts. I understand how the 30 series torque converter driver weights, garter springs, and driven spring changes affect rpm engagement but I want to know what the results of these changes are...

How will it change operation of the kart through hilly/pretty rough terrain?
Is it better to have a higher engagement for these activities or low engagement?

What changes beyond rpm engagement can be expected by switching to cast aluminum driver weights from zinc? Does the engine rev faster, etc?

if larger than stock (+ 3 to 4 inches) diameter tires are in the plans, how would you adjust the torque converter to accommodate for this assuming the stock sprockets are left unchanged?

I'm sorry if the questions aren't clear.

Thanks!

Brianator

Gettin' er done!
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!

In order to help you best we can you'll need to give us as much info as possible. Motor plus mods (if any), if governed/ungoverned, tire size (true height), gearing ect. For rough and hilly terrain you want the driven set in the #1 hole, if no numbers on it you want to set it in the hole that holds the most tension on the spring which delays shifting and keeps it in a lower "gear" longer. Chances are you want to keep the driver clutch setup stock which should start to engage at about 2300 rpms. Rarely would you want lower rpm engagement as that will put it well below the torque peak and youd only want to raise the engagement rpm if you have a high rpm motor. Here's the spring/weight chart so you can get a better idea. You can't really compensate for tire size without changing physical gear ratios btw, let us know what you have and we'll move forward

Attachments

• 20200224_003935.jpg
    20200224_003935.jpg
    261.6 KB · Views: 28

pghp8ntballer

Reaction score
It’s a bone stock 2012 hammerhead mudhead. 6.5 hp 208cc. Stock knock off 30 series torque converter.