Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > Electric Projects

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #161  
Old 03-06-2020, 06:58 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

No it's fine Sid I feel your pain as you can feel mine makes me laugh a bit if you could hear us both at times ...: , mental health getting tested
But I no your doing your very best to help me and appreciate everything you have done for me and all the time you have put into helping me with my heightest gratitude thank you it means alot and will never be forgotten.... in UK not many people no how to fix these I have tried everywhere and nobody would touch it so you are my hero sid

I will give motor 3 a try as I should off and let you no how that went ....looking at sat night or sunday it will be done ...
With motor 2 have you seen that type of behaviour before ?
Maybe a short in wire although everything seems spot on from what I can see if all fails with 3 then maybe a full check on all connections... which I have done so many times .. would a sensor do that? I'm sure will find out soon enough....

Thankyou very much
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 03-06-2020, 07:49 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,040
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 4,582 Times in 3,460 Posts
Default

I'm almost done with the wiring diagram for you
Click image for larger version

Name:	wiring_parts.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	211.2 KB
ID:	116514

As you can see still a few questions left to be answered

I'll start from the top:
what is this:

is that the main power switch originally?
can you tell me it's corresponding wire colours?

Next up the speed indicator and battery control indicator
that kart doesn't seem to have a tachometer or speedometer,
and I have no idea how that black plug from the controller is layed out,
so I'd suggest to leave it unplugged
I am missing the wire colours for the battery indicator.

We need to measure the 132 keyed switch still, so please do not wire it up for now.
You also MUST remove the RPD Switch from the kart (at least remove all the wires that are attached to it in order to prevent any mishaps!) (that's where I think you should've put the new forward reverse switch btw )

Does that kart have a brake light?
if so the orange/white would connect to that (white being negative, orange positive)

And finally, the kart appears to have a charger on board..
the red plug is the battery charging port, but IDK if that system matches yours at all.. so for now rather leave it unconnected until we verified that as well.

any chance you can link me the owner manual for that original kart?
That'd likely help me to get a better idea of the kart's original setup,
thus I'd need less asking and so on.
Or if you have a paper manual, maybe you can scan me a pdf from it?

The "switch"y thing that's tucked away so terribly..
looks like a household fusebox to me.
can you please tell me it's rating? if it is a fusebox it might not be fit for your motor setup any more.
in which case it needs to be skipped (or replaced) hence I left it off the diagram for now.

Some side notes:
if you're having issues with the brake switch again (or at any one point)
rather replace it, I think that's the correct replacement part:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Emma-Univer.../dp/B073388DVF
(pull to engage is correct I guess; since you haven't answered that yet [please do eventually.. this is STILL important])

'sid

[EDIT]
oops missed your post..
uhm yeah well I think the brake switch is giving you a hard time..
maybe it's the motor's fault, maybe it's the switch..
so try three different configs with break switch plugged in,
unplugged and
unplugged but brake switch wire (black/white) on the controller shorted with a jumper.
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.

Last edited by itsid; 03-06-2020 at 11:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 03-09-2020, 06:56 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Yes the power switch is the same wires and turns on and off no problem ,even tho I bypass the onoff switch the motor still spinned a lil bit .but it only has connected...
Hall sensor
Throttle 3 phase wires
forward and reverse
I have seen few people that had problems and somthing is telling me its the throttle what else could it be ...? Everything connected good no loose connections that I can see everything seems secure

No brake light
I will search for manual
Defo no fuse box
And tried all 3 types with the brake and no change the wheels spin but then stops and did not cut out the brake when bypassed tbh it should of stopped ? , we said that the throttle was running week could that be the case you think ? Got to be either one that's causing it but even without the brake connected it still should go no problem which leaves the throttle ?? Or battery but battery fine it is old tbh but says it's got the 48v ....
Thankyou
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 03-09-2020, 08:43 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,040
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 4,582 Times in 3,460 Posts
Default

Sorry.. my fault lingual issue..
fuse box to me means "circuit breaker" to you

I need to see what you've wired up..

I bet there's something going on there..
since the weak throttle signal make the motor go slow.. but not stop it after a few revolutions.

I bet you haven't removed that stinking rotary switch yet for example.
Or interconencted the attached wires or something.

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 03-10-2020, 12:57 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

yeah the circuit breaker works as far as I no cuts off the power and doing its job did measure the volts from one side to the next and spot on .

The rotary switch is fully disconnected but still remains on the car so can't be stopping it.

I sent pics it can only be 1 of them which makes me think it can only be the throttle ? What else could it be but tbh on testing on ebike tester and our tests seems ok .

This has been the problem from the start and I bet the other motor 2 will work if this issue is fixed it can only be somthing so small no way to bypass the throttle?
I can dissconnect the breaker switch?
Forward and reverse was working perfectly
3 phase wires spot on
And hall sensors are to I have checked for loose connection but they all go in nice and tight ?
Maybe I should try have a wiggle around when connected to see if there is a loose connection but as you said I can't do it for long as it will burn the controller out
I can't put it on the laptop yet as my battery has gone onit now ,had it for years and surprised it's last as long as it has

Thankyou tony
Attached Thumbnails
20200310_183334.jpg   20200310_183406.jpg  

20200310_183431.jpg   20200310_183528.jpg  

20200310_183554.jpg   20200310_183755.jpg  

20200310_183727.jpg   20200310_183707.jpg  

20200310_183653.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 03-10-2020, 09:25 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,040
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 4,582 Times in 3,460 Posts
Default

Tony, you missed the point again.

What's the rating of the circuit breaker (and don't read any AC rating off it the DC rating is all that matters)

Also: the wiring on the kart is a huge pile of "the unknown"
and as long as you simply connect without measuring the wires that are between the two important bits, you are simply NOT going to succeed.

I give a wet towel for the connectors, I've seen them quite a few times by now.. I want to know where the motor phase wires go..
see every inch of such phase wire..
and if by chance it ends up on that rotary switch (which on the last pic had a few coloured wires still connected)

So no, no stop that please.. and NOOO

A i said much earlier..
everything on that kart has to go!
AND ONLY if it's tested is allowed to return and wired up, that includes the wiring harness.
And that stupid annyoing rotary switch is still connected to the wiring harness I bet.
And that MUST NOT be!

So, continuity test and verify that the brake line is the brake line and not connected to anything BUT the brake line,
And the exact same for exactly every little inch of wire.

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 03-13-2020, 02:39 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Alright Sid sorry it's bin a few days my nan passed away.

I took the rotary switch off
I have tested the breaker switch( see pics)
I have made a new bypass for on/off switch with clamp grips
I have had no change in the car ...

Thankyou tony
Attached Thumbnails
20200312_144102.jpg   20200312_144116.jpg  

20200311_121655.jpg   20200311_121010.jpg  

Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 03-13-2020, 05:56 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,040
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 4,582 Times in 3,460 Posts
Default

Hi Tony, I'm so sorry to hear that
you have my sympathy.

I'll read through the last few pages again maybe I missed something myself;

Will get back to you hopefully tomorrow.

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 03-15-2020, 01:14 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thankyou Sid
I double checked the throttle with 5v source seems to be working 100 % I have 2 pics of it with the pedal pushed down and not
Thankyou
Tony
Attached Thumbnails
20200315_172742.jpg   20200315_172853.jpg  

Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 03-15-2020, 08:41 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,040
Thanks: 1,480
Thanked 4,582 Times in 3,460 Posts
Default

great.. 4.4V is a very reasonable result.

I got a bit distracted this WE unfortunately;
with the current craze going on,
a lot of meetings/appointments and such had to be cancelled for the following days
and the whole emailing got me entertained for the most part of this WE.
(felt like with every email I replied to five new filled my inbox ...)

Sorry, I'll do my best, but right now there is close to no planning possible..
if I find the time I'll be back at it, I promise.

Sorry for the delay

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 03-17-2020, 12:45 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Totally understandable Sid and no problem m8 speak to you soon
Thankyou
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 03-23-2020, 10:15 PM
Tony86 Tony86 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London
Posts: 94
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Bin doing some research and I got the motor from mad scooters and I'm going to show you the controller for the 2000w compared to the other 1800w controller I have?

Guessing also the battery might be lagging in power I can check its voltage when the power is drawn from the battery?

And prob nothing to do with the capacitors or upgrade them maybe just guessing ? Or there maybe a overload of power making it shut off?

Also I can check the amps on the battery ? I think they are 20amp If I remember rightly?

Or transistor issue?
Thankyou
Tony
Attached Thumbnails
20200323_025745.jpg   Screenshot_20200323-025628_Samsung Internet.jpg  

20200324_041949.jpg   20200324_041943.jpg  

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.