Trike Build - Gear ratios and Clutch help

BigKid90

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've almost got a roller for my trike build, which I hope to finish this week!

I've taken a lot of inspiration from the 'The Garage Vlog' Trikes. You can get an idea of what I'm going for HERE

I'm stuck when it comes to gearing, as I'm not experienced in this at all. The TGV guys use a torque convertor, and I'm debating whether I need one or whether to run a centrifugal clutch. Any suggestions on a build like this?

I also don't know what a reasonable gear ratio for something like this would be. They use a 48-tooth rear sprocket which I cannot find anywhere, so trying to understand what alternatives I can find using kart parts, or potentially mini-bike parts.

It's really quite hard to source parts outside of the US and its mostly kart spares here in the UK, hence some of the conflict in what route to go down.

Interested to see what you guys think.

Thanks

redflash

Reaction score
optimum is 1 to 6....meaning 10 tooth on the torque converter and 60 tooth on the axle. Then again what surface are you riding on dirt/asphalt?
Also what weight is the machine with your butt on it, also what speed do you wish to attempt ? all things that play into ratio.

Da redflash

BigKid90

Reaction score
optimum is 1 to 6....meaning 10 tooth on the torque converter and 60 tooth on the axle. Then again what surface are you riding on dirt/asphalt?
Also what weight is the machine with your butt on it, also what speed do you wish to attempt ? all things that play into ratio.

Da redflash
Thanks!

It will be a combo of dirt and asphalt, but primarily asphalt.

I feel it'll probably be more fun being torquey at low speeds, popping wheelies etc than a particularly high top speed.

It's going to tip the scale over 300lbs with the bike and rider once all is said and done. :eek:

panchothedog

Reaction score