Predator 212 racing coil ?

pearl111

Reaction score
I am somewhat clueless when it comes to electronics with go-kart/ minibike engines and such.
My question is if a change my...stock coil... on my (built) predator 212, to a racing/hotter coil, how much will it affect the stock sparkplug?
I'm wondering how long the stock plug will last, or should I upgrade the plug too?

I am guessing your question to me is how much stronger/hotter or ohms is the upgraded coil, that I would like to buy, I'm not sure.
I don't know if this helps but the racing coil, I'm looking at is made for a Pred. 212. So, I'm hoping I don't need to worry about the ohms.
From what I've been reading less ohms means less resistance, which means a hotter spark.

Next question do I need to use a multimeter on the coil to find the ohms? If so, how do I use the multimeter on the coil?
And does anyone know the ohm on a stock Predator 212?

I hope all this makes sense, like a said I'm new to the electronics area on these engines.
Thanks.

Denny

Canned Monster
Reaction score
The only reason to ever change a coil is if it fails or if it has a built in rev limiter. When the compression ratio approaches 11:1 then worry about a hotter coil.

pearl111

Reaction score
The only reason to ever change a coil is if it fails or if it has a built in rev limiter. When the compression ratio approaches 11:1 then worry about a hotter coil.
Ok thanks...what would you have to change on a stock pred. 212 to make the compression ratio change?
I'm probable wrong.... but I'm guessing, piston size and or piston rod length, or maybe crankshaft.... Which I did not do.

I am curious.... what would be the compression ratio on a stock Pred. 212 hemi be?
Also how do you measure compression ratio on a Pred. 212?
Thanks.

Denny

Canned Monster
Reaction score