No Welding help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rokor

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm new here and a few of my friends are getting together to build a Go Kart, but we don't have access to a welder. I saw on this site http://home.comcast.net/~makeyourowngokart/prod01.htm(bottom of page)
that the Kart was made from angle iron shaped rods. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction as to how I would go about doing this. I need help mainly with steering guide, and the wheel connector things. And I'm sorry I don't know the names :p.

P.S. I'm certainly not new to building things, I'm an engineer.

EDIT: I am fine with the spindles and steering application, I just need help with the basic frame.

Last edited:

Kenny_McCormic

Kartless....
Reaction score
:confused:
What kind of engineer doesnt keep a welder or 2 around?

Steering is simple steering wheel is bolted to steering colum, little arm comes off colum near frontend, adjustable length conecting arms with ball joints on the ends attach steering arm to spindle arms.

modelengineer

Lord of the noise
Reaction score
Why not buy a welder? A 140amp arc welder can be had for $80 USD or less and as Kenny mentioned everyone who is into karts, specifically building them, should have one.

A bolt together kart won't be as safe, strong, maintenance free, or as durable as a welded kart.
I strongly advise you to get a welder and practice, practice, practice.

STreetKArt

_______
Reaction score
welder

you can get a wire feed mig welder from harbor freight for like 100 two 130$
just buy it use it and the take it back to the store

t0x1k

Vroom
Reaction score
Or just buy good once and get a Lincoln electric weldpak HD. Says it only welds up to 1/8" but on a clean circuit with no extension cord I've melted right through 3/16 steel. Heck I welded 5/8" bolts to act as my spindles, they're not going any where.
It's like $240 at the home depot.

Kenny_McCormic

Kartless....
Reaction score

rokor