Monster Moto 80cc Help!

OrionFelt

Reaction score
Hello! I've recently purchased a Monster Moto 80cc minibike with the engine still intact and all. The seller said it wouldn't start, so I took a look at it and the engine is the rustiest thing I think I've ever seen in my life. I'm looking into buying a new one, maybe a 79cc Predator or a Briggs and Stratton snowblower engine, or just a generic snowblower engine. As I have no experience with welding, my question is: Is there any way to install a 79cc Predator without welding a mounting plate to the base? Furthermore, would a snowblower or generic engine work any good, and if not, is there anywhere to purchase a stock monster moto engine, or something similar? I'm eager to get this bike running and give it new life!

Thank you!

landuse

Staff member
Reaction score
Have you googled for new engines for that bike yet? I just had a quick look, and there seem to be several sites you could look at. Ebay and Amazon might also be worth looking at.

Otherwise just put a Predator on if it fits. I would think the 79cc might be a bit too under powered if you are a adult

You are also going to have to look at the gearing, as the original engines might have had some internal gear reduction (I have no idea about those engines). This would mean that you would have to change out sprockets and chain as well. Also reroute the throttle, etc

OrionFelt

Reaction score
I have! I'm currently looking at the 79cc Predator I mentioned earlier, and an "MTD 208cc Horizontal Shaft Engine" I found on ebay for a similar price. I'm looking for more options. I'm mainly worried about mounting the engine it to the frame, and what exactly I need to put on the new engine to make it bare minimum usable. I can link both if needed!

landuse

Staff member
Reaction score