Minimoto go kart hop up recommendations needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJR

Reaction score
Hi All,

I just picked up 3 of these 36v 500Watt karts, one runs and two currently do not. I want to hop one of them up but not sure on the motor/controller combo just yet, as I am really new to this. Have been doing some research and see that many will use higher voltage rated controllers than motors so its still a bit unclear to me why this is, or should be?

I am looking to put maybe $200-250 into it for the upgrade.

I would like to keep it at 36v so I can use my current batteries, although 72v is an option since I have a few extra 36v 12ah batteries.

Things to note:

1. I do not need a controller with built in reverse.
2. My accel pedal is a hall effect 3 wire type, bit I can remove this and use a thumb throttle on the steering wheel if the controller would require this.
3. I have extra dead controllers so plug swapping should not be an issue. The current controllers are 6 plug units.
4. The karts currently use a 36V 500Watt MY1020 motor with #25 11 tooth sprocket.
5. I would like to take it up to at least 1000Watts, then perhaps play with the gearing.

6. I am sure I am overlooking several things :oops:

Any suggestions/comments are surely welcome. Please keep the flames to a minimum ;)

KJR

[/IMG]
[/IMG]

MacfarlaneRacers

Reaction score
There Quite Nice Karts if i was you i would get a gx160 engine into one of them mate take the electrics out !
Im Sure That Ferrari 1 Is a Fake.
I Could Be Wrong But The Electiric kart the honda sticker is fake... or is it on for real ?
Meaing its not made by honda

sideways

Unfinished projects king.
Reaction score
1000w motors and controllers can be picked up cheaply on eBay, that's what I would use if I wanted to keep it electric. Also, you could take the motor and controller from one and put it on another so you have 2 motors on one kart.