Hey - New to this. Any help would be great!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Team_Sintex

Reaction score
Hiya, im new to this forum. Im from the UK(england).

To give myself a project over the summer im looking into building, designing and creating a petrol powered go-kart.

Im 18, currently working as an electrician, with very little knowledge about mechanics, so i'd like to pick your brains about some of the aspects first:

Frame - Round or square? what thickness?
Seat - Wooden supported by metal frame?
Steering - No idea about any of this, any websites about DIY go-karting steering or pictures greatly appreciated
Axels/Wheels - Are these a build it yourself, or ordered parts been as im a newb?
Engine - Im guessing i'll need atleast a 6HP engine with gears? I wish to achieve a gentle jogging speed if possible.
Clutch - I imagine these are just ordered aswel?
Gear box - what machine should i be looking for to aquire a gear box from? 50cc motor bike?

Any information you could give me would be fantastic!

I could take the engine from the obvious choices, petrol lawn mower or petrol strimmer, but these are vertical drive shaft machines? dont i need a horizontal one? If possible is there much work involved in adjusting the drive shaft?

Thanks in advance!

r_chez_08

Should be in the shop...
Reaction score
welcome! another brit!!

firstly, if you dont mind me asking, whats your budget???
frame: your choice, depends where the kart will be used mainly tho
seat: you can pick up a used bucket seat for about £20 or fabricate one yourself
steering: this site has a steering section here
here and here
axle: most commonly live axles, where the power from the engine drives both wheels, or 1 wheel drive, where the engine powers one wheel. parts are mainly bought. you can see what i bought for my live axle in posts 24, 27 and 37.