Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Other Stuff > More Builds

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2019, 07:13 AM
jeffreyirish jeffreyirish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default throttle?

So i recently started building a scrap cart and the engine that i am using is a 10 hp Tecumseh motor from a snowblower, i have the thing lined up and mounted down but i have run into an issue unlike most box motor and cart engines, it doesn't have a place for me to effectively mount the throttle cable to , i'm used to predator motors, where the throttle just attaches to a spring actuated arm right next to the carb, has anyone done this before? how did you mount your throttle cable, do they sell kits? Side question how should i mount the Air filter as most snowblowers don't have one, and should i be worried about overheating?
  #2  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:06 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
2019 Build Off Winner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,521
Thanks: 793
Thanked 546 Times in 496 Posts
Default

It helps a lot to have pics of the engine mounted throttle setup, so if you could start with posting some, that would be great.
BTW, a thread like this would probably go best in the Engines & Clutches forum. Just to let ya know.

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:05 AM ----------

How to post pics: http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/showthread.php?t=735
__________________
Currently Flathead-Crazed
  #3  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:10 AM
J.S.@SMS's Avatar
J.S.@SMS J.S.@SMS is offline
Road Hazard
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weeki Wachee Fl.
Posts: 865
Thanks: 72
Thanked 150 Times in 134 Posts
Default

I'm not sure about a 10hp Tecumseh, but my 6.0 has a mushroom on the end of the throttle cable, that hooks into a groove in the throttle plate.
__________________
For his personal safety, keep this one away from bicycles.
  #4  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:54 AM
jeffreyirish jeffreyirish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default


Here is a photo of the engine that i have i am at work right now so i couldnt get a picture of my exact engine but this is what the throttle cable connects to just a lever (the read one) with no spring so the Gas pedal on the Kart wont work.
  #5  
Old 05-30-2019, 10:52 AM
JTSpeedDemon's Avatar
JTSpeedDemon JTSpeedDemon is offline
2019 Build Off Winner!
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,521
Thanks: 793
Thanked 546 Times in 496 Posts
Default

Sounds like it would work, but what's wrong with the pedal?
It shouldn't be too hard to add a throttle return spring.
If you could give us some close up pics of you specific throttle assembly on your actual engine, that would help a lot.
__________________
Currently Flathead-Crazed
  #6  
Old 05-31-2019, 10:50 AM
Kaptain Krunch's Avatar
Kaptain Krunch Kaptain Krunch is offline
Pro Junk Collector
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: vermont
Posts: 4,623
Thanks: 71
Thanked 334 Times in 307 Posts
Default

No spring? Add one...make a bracket to hold cable on engine shroud. disconnect kill wire from throttle lever so it doesnt shut off when not accelerating.

Remove the heat box around carb/exhaust and install air filter

No engine will not overheat.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.