Gk200 rectifier for charging system?!

clueless8169

Reaction score
Im pretty new to this kinda stuff...but ive got a coleman gk200 with a 196cc motor, it came with some crappy little LED lights on the front, and they pull power from what ive gathered is a rectifier?? Not sure. Either way i was wondering if it would be possible to cut the green and yellow power wires to the headlights and route that power to a little 12v battery for bigger lights?20240322_111828.jpg Is this possible? Will it be able to run lights AND put a charge on a battery?!? TIA20240322_111816.jpg20240322_111950.jpg

Thepartsguy

Reaction score
I’m not sure if your regulator has a diode but hooking it up to 12v with no idea what will happen sounds like a good way to kaboom the rectifier

clueless8169

Reaction score
I’m not sure if your regulator has a diode but hooking it up to 12v with no idea what will happen sounds like a good way to kaboom the rectifier
Its got diodes i think. Im pretty good with industrial electric, runnin 3 ph motors, 24v control voltage....i know nothing about these engines though haha. The little crappy headlights have like 20 LEDS each and theyre awful. If i could put some kind of overcharge protection in line it would be awesomw to pull power from those useless LED headlights and store the energy in a battery for the light bar/ brake and turn signals

Thepartsguy

Reaction score
Its got diodes i think. Im pretty good with industrial electric, runnin 3 ph motors, 24v control voltage....i know nothing about these engines though haha. The little crappy headlights have like 20 LEDS each and theyre awful. If i could put some kind of overcharge protection in line it would be awesomw to pull power from those useless LED headlights and store the energy in a battery for the light bar/ brake and turn signals
I bet the coils under the flywheel are lighting coils and not charging coils. Search around and see if they make a full on stator charging system swap.

clueless8169