Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Building Plans And Advice > All Other Parts

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 11-25-2019, 05:26 PM

Default Rear Axle Fabrication

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum and go karting!

The Setup:

So I want to build my first go-kart as much from scratch as possible. Every tutorial or video I've seen seems like people buy a rear axle kit that includes flangettes, bearings, a keystock and a keyed axle.

The Question:
Do I need to have a keyed axle and a keystock? Can't I just make my own rear axle with some steel tubing and some 5/8" bolts welded to it?
and finally, could I just simply weld the sprocket to the axle?

I'm not really a mechanical engineering guy so I don't know why the axles are keyed and why the kit comes with a stock (I've read online that the concept is that the axle has a groove that is half the width of the keystock and then whatever part you want to attach has another groove with the other half and the keystock mates into both...probably just an extra layer to protect the axle???)

Cheers!
Old 11-25-2019, 05:51 PM
Road Hazard

Yeah, keys are pretty helpful. I lost one on my drifter once and barely made it home on one tire. They keep the axle from spinning inside the wheels. I don't think steel tubing will be strong enough, axles are usually 1 in. solid steel. And I don't get the 5/8" bolts. Also, welding a sprocket, or anything for that matter, to the axle is ill-advised, and leads to headaches when something breaks or wears out. And a keyway is half the depth of the keystock, that way there us an equal amount of keyway in the axle as say the wheel hub, which allows them to transfer torque without shearing as easily.