Go Back   DIY Go Kart Forum > Announcements & Suggestions > Site Announcements and Suggestion Box

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2020, 10:24 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default Site got moved. Problems?

Let me know any problems you find on the site. I moved it from one company to another, and there's usually something that breaks that you miss!



Kinda like when you wind up with a few extra bolts after that engine tear down ....







It *should* be just the same, but if not lemme know!

---------- Post added at 11:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 PM ----------

Yes I know the header area is screwed up. It's frustrating me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2020, 04:53 AM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,102
Thanks: 1,492
Thanked 4,614 Times in 3,485 Posts
Default

http://www.diygokarts.com/diykarts-vb.css
isn't loading
it carries the titleblock styles we're currently missing.
you have that just after the opening <head> tag
Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://www.diygokarts.com/diykarts-vb.css">
the server cuts the http:// and makes it an invalid relative path
(evaluates to : http://www.diygokarts.com/vb/diygokarts.com/diykarts-vb.css)

so change that line to
Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../diykarts-vb.css">
to make it a valid relative path and it'll work again
see:


attachments aren't 'allowed'..
Please check the folder rights for the attachment folder;
upload fails for all types
(hence me using a third party image host)

and unfortunately our ncode image resizer isn't working either..
seems it's not loaded at all..
again.. you used an absolute path (gets messed up just like the css above)
change that to
Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/ncode_imageresizer.js?v=1.0.1"></script>
instead and it'll work again

same thing on the footer links.. homepage link gets corrupted in exactly the same way..
server strips the http:// portion and makes the url a relative link instead of an absolute one.
(which then fails)

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2020, 02:50 PM
Thelegg's Avatar
Thelegg Thelegg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 15
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

It's getting better slowly, to start with anything I clicked wouldn't open then it changed and said that the content was deleted, now certain pages load but all the posts I've subscribed to have vanished
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2020, 04:08 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default

hmm. Cookies must be an issue once we changed to the secured version https:// ... 'sid any thoughts here?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2020, 04:24 PM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 920
Thanks: 23
Thanked 207 Times in 177 Posts
Default

The site works fairly well with Firefox but I get a blank page in Chrome in the discussion area anyway. The other links seem to be working. I cleared the cache and refreshed a few times to no avail.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2020, 04:28 PM
Karttekk Karttekk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Elizabeth, PA
Posts: 920
Thanks: 23
Thanked 207 Times in 177 Posts
Default

Actually a database error loads.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2020, 04:36 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default

Fixed DB errors
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2020, 05:47 PM
madtom madtom is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 38
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I cant post

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2020, 06:13 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madtom View Post
I cant post

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk



You literally just posted that you can't post.



?


Also I disabled tapatalk. Are people still using that? I can turn it back on.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RobertD For This Useful Post:
bob58o (07-06-2020), Joe-405 (Today)
  #10  
Old 06-30-2020, 06:19 PM
itsid's Avatar
itsid itsid is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ruhrpott [Germany]
Posts: 11,102
Thanks: 1,492
Thanked 4,614 Times in 3,485 Posts
Default

cookies are self-renewing and shouldn't be an issue at all.
since the domain didn't change, the cookies will just update in 99% of all cases,
the remaining error can be dealt with by just logging out and logging in again
or by flushing the sites cookies from the browser and then logging back in.

Now you removed the ncode image resizer, that's unfortunate...
I'll miss him already since now all those pesty third party hosted images are being blown up to their max size at all times.
(which renders some very good threads unreadable)

So.. put it back where it was please

Especially since attachement uploads are still not working
(again: check the folder rights.. [either chmod or chown the folder appropriately])

'sid
__________________
Jokes about german sausage are the wurst.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-30-2020, 07:39 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default

OK, found the offending plugin and got rid of that. Was one for the double-posting issue. I must have left it on the server...



Ncode is back. Please verify.


Checking on the upload directories
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-30-2020, 07:42 PM
jmaack jmaack is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 215
Thanks: 112
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default

pics aren't working
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-30-2020, 07:46 PM
Brianator's Avatar
Brianator Brianator is offline
Gettin' er done!
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 722
Thanks: 190
Thanked 178 Times in 159 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelegg View Post
Iall the posts I've subscribed to have vanished
Mine are all still there and seem to work but no doubt there will be bugs to work, patience my friend

---------- Post added at 09:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:44 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaack View Post
pics aren't working
Yup, attachments haven't loaded, the file names in one of my threads are indeed listed though.
__________________
"Black is the fastest color"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-30-2020, 07:48 PM
jmaack jmaack is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 215
Thanks: 112
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Question is this privately hosted vbulletin? or stored elsewhere?

I'm a fan of networking and web design and curious
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-30-2020, 08:22 PM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 3,314
Thanks: 682
Thanked 861 Times in 726 Posts
Default

I ditched Tapatalk months ago when they changed their picture policy and some of their updates sucked, like making each thread a single non stop scroll fest instead of multiple separate pages like it use to be.

I was not able to click on a lot of the threads an hour or so ago, must've been doing work on the site. But was able to get into my private messages and other account stuff... now I'm getting a database error message.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-30-2020, 08:39 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default

Still working. Filled the dang disk, working out some issues.


Answer - yes this is a privately hosted server, meaning it costs a few dollars ...
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to RobertD For This Useful Post:
jmaack (06-30-2020), Kartorbust (06-30-2020), Karts of Kaos (07-01-2020), landuse (06-30-2020)
  #17  
Old 06-30-2020, 10:09 PM
Kartorbust's Avatar
Kartorbust Kartorbust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 3,314
Thanks: 682
Thanked 861 Times in 726 Posts
Default

I'm curious, a good number of us use our phones to visit the site, usually with the browser, though some with Tapatalk. For those of us using the phone web browser, what would it take to make the site more mobile friendly? I'm fine and content with the site as is, but I'm sure others that come here might grumble a bit about it. If it's an additional charge for it, totally understandable.
__________________
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-30-2020, 10:11 PM
RobertD's Avatar
RobertD RobertD is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 342
Thanked 1,089 Times in 456 Posts
Default

This is the plan -



Move the site to this new server host.
Let that settle.
Move software to a new software that's phone friendly.
See how that works in a test scenario. If good, roll it out.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to RobertD For This Useful Post:
Brianator (06-30-2020), Kartorbust (06-30-2020), landuse (06-30-2020)
  #19  
Old 06-30-2020, 10:23 PM
Brianator's Avatar
Brianator Brianator is offline
Gettin' er done!
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 722
Thanks: 190
Thanked 178 Times in 159 Posts
Default



I've only been here on my phone and have had no issues with it, sure I need to zoom sometimes (okay alot) but my fingers ain't broken and I personally like the look and layout as it is.
__________________
"Black is the fastest color"
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-30-2020, 11:07 PM
landuse's Avatar
landuse landuse is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Posts: 18,130
Thanks: 2,549
Thanked 3,732 Times in 3,048 Posts
Default

I would just like to say thanks again to Robert for hosting this chat forum for us. We know it costs a bit to maintain. I am sure a few of us would contribute a bit if you ever needed it. I like an advert free forum, and it would be cool if we could keep it that way
Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to landuse For This Useful Post:
BigWes (07-05-2020), Brianator (06-30-2020), Functional Artist (07-02-2020), itsid (07-01-2020), Joe-405 (Today), Kartorbust (07-01-2020), Karts of Kaos (07-01-2020), RobertD (06-30-2020)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.