Using Zinc coated bolts as dowels to repair cut frame?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bmr4Karts

Reaction score
I'm new to welding and was thinking of using these bolts to fix my cut frame. I'll cut the heads off and use the bolt as a dowel. I'll also cut small slits in each side of the frame tubing and weld the bolt directly to that frame.

Attached are pictures of my frame as it currently sits.

Attachments

• cut frame.jpg
    cut frame.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 9
  • Cur frame 2.JPG
    Cur frame 2.JPG
    61.8 KB · Views: 5

JTSpeedDemon

2019 Build Off Winner!
Reaction score
DON'T WELD ZINC PLATED STUFF!!
Zinc fumes are highly toxic and can be fatal!
Please go to the hardware store and get some unplated stuff.

mckutzy

Reaction score
Clearly you havent welded enough galv in your life...
Galv isnt deadly to weld... its not good to weld...Hence MFF

Most welders get a bit of fumes already, those bolts are fine, they're not hot dip... that's a bigger thing as there wont be as much fumes...

If you can prep the bolts....take off as much plate as you can by mechanical or chemical means... a sandblaster or even a grinder with a wire wheel...

Having a good ventilated space is about the best place.. so outside is a good idea...

I welded a bunch of stuff galvanized. A good example.... a F-up from a customer missed the couture of the ground when sizing his new gate I built.... Boss comes back and say we need to add extentions to the bottom.... after it got to site and after galv.... All hot dip, and being the bottom of the gate... it was the heaviest deposit of the zinc... they were 20ft long and 1' extentions, both parts galv.... lots of welding... one of the only times I was aloud to take a longer break as I was the only one able to do the job...

It smokes heavily, smells, and tastes bad... drink some milk... and wear a mask with a good amount of ventilation...