Toggle switch help?

Reaction score
I’m wanting to wire up a toggle switch, but I’m not 100% how it works, do I connect the switch independently to the battery and then wire it into what I’m using it for, or do I just wire it directly into what I’m using it for? (Ignition switch) the ignition wires aren’t grounding red/black like they should and I can’t get power at all unless I manually touch the red and black wires together, would like to do a toggle switch instead to make it easier

TNThomas

Reaction score
Im no pro, but eseentially a toggle switch (or any switch) simply opens and closes your circuit. Basically like wires touch, or they dont. Aka current can flow, or not. It depends on what your doing, but most likely you want it "in-line" switch. Basically you are letting current flow, or not when you flip it. Dont 100% trust wire colors, electricity doesnt care about what color wire its flowing down. Consider wiring in a fuse holder as well. That way you don't fry electronics if something gets overloaded.

Plenty of info online, but two good trains of thought are to think of electricity like water, it needs to flow somewhere. It will find the bath of least resistance (most easily conductice to electricity). Also, be sure to cover any exposed metal on any connections with heat shrink/electrical tape(heatvshrink is better). Exposed wire conbections floppinh around is what shorts you connection, and can blow you fuse.

Im a beginner at electrical, but a few cheap hand tools can be had for less than 10$ per at HF

Last tool is for stripping your sheathing off of wire, and for crimping your connection fittings on.

TNThomas

Reaction score
I mainly use my multi meter to identify positive and negative wires, along with voltage. Super helpful as ypu can see how many volts your batter has, and if its charging.

Reaction score