Refurb Go Cart Build

ScottH

Reaction score
I am a rookie at go cart builds but a friend gave me a Bristers Fire To Go go cart so I decided to give it a try.
It had a Honda GX390 GCAK QA2* UT1 engine that sat for who knows how long. So, I decided to rebuild engine and chassis rom the ground up. Looking to ride semi off road, Also, my teenage son will be riding most of time.
Looking for your suggestions:

Stock carb modified with #117 main and #40 pilot ??? is it dependable. ???
Debating - Oil level sensor on or off ??
1.3 rocker arms - economical - NR is out of the Billet steel 1.3, (I looked for these) ??
Billet Piston Rod long or short ?
Piston Head Flat or concave ?
Need to have head bored, it appears out of round from my analysis. Bored to what dia. ???
Coil with digital Ignition w/o rev limiter ???
Thinking about aftermarket electric start kit ???
Thinking about torque converter ?

So far I have:
Gutted the engine
Replaced orig. crankshaft with new one. No mods. Had to cut old one in half as clutch was rusted on.
Replaced bearings all new in crankcase.
Removed governor
Replaced Head with new small port milled head 0.050, single HD springs 35lb, 31mm and 36 mm cyls. <--from NR racing
Chromoly pushrods
Billet Crank cover plate

Thanks for your help.
I will elaborate on frame and chassis upgrades later. Have some upgrades already but finish engine first.

madprofessor

"Loose Cannon Creations"
Reaction score