Predator 212 need help plz.

BrianSlaughter3355!

Reaction score
Okay so I'm new to this trying to learn as much as possible so bare with me plz. I'm not sure if I'm heading for disaster but here's what I got and what's about to happen I have a non hemi block with hemi head it has governor delete billet flyw, bolt rod +.02, flat top Pistons, super x cm grind .265 cam, 26lbs springs, ss valves, light port and polish, ..010x2 gasket, vm22 26mm carb. Up jetted. I'm fixing to put a hi comp 14cc head (which I'll port b4 installing) with 1:0 champion rockers cut to length chomoly pushrods, and everything I noted earlier what kind of compression will I have? can I run 93 octane plus oct boost and be ok do I need a bigger head gasket? Etc.. I'm also putting a valve cover spacer for clearance any suggestions and help would be much appreciated. Thanks

panchothedog

Reaction score
Add one more head gasket. You need .030" clearance between piston and head and with the longer rod you are at or VERY near flush with deck.
All else sounds like you are on your way to a very strong predator. I have built two this past year and the hotter of the two I had problems with the side cover coming loose. Grey Goat at OMB warehouse recommended I install billet side cover and it fixed the problem right now. Something I would not thought of.
I mention this because after you install the 14cc head you are going to have about as much compression as a stock predator block will handle. I don't know numerically what the compression ratio will be but it will be plenty. One more thing, buy the head stud kit instead of using the stock head bolts. You can get a lot more clamping force w/o worrying about stripping the threads in the block. I torque mine to 28-30 lbs and recheck after the first 2 or 3 heat cycles

madprofessor

"Loose Cannon Creations"
Reaction score