peerless

Status
Not open for further replies.

krayzierave

Reaction score
I am new to the karting scene and I have a vertical shaft briggs engine sitting in my garage. Has anyone used a peerless tranny with a go kart on here? I am wanting to go around 50mph with a go kart and I figure the only I could possibly do that with a small engine is a transmission with gears.

sp_1989

Pre-builder
Reaction score
If the transmission is from a mower, you're probably not going to get much speed out of it. Most transmissions gear down so that won't help you any.

Gopedude

Reaction score
I am new to the karting scene and I have a vertical shaft briggs engine sitting in my garage. Has anyone used a peerless tranny with a go kart on here? I am wanting to go around 50mph with a go kart and I figure the only I could possibly do that with a small engine is a transmission with gears.

Your looking at a lot of money to make a multi geared cart. Mostly for the transmission. That will cost a lot. What is the engine rated at?

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score
Your best bet for something like this is a small motorcycle engine and transmission combo. That said, you can use your vertical shaft engine with a race-prepped Peerless 700 transmission, or similar arrangement. While we don't often see this combination on karts, lawn tractor racers do it regularly.

krayzierave

Reaction score
The peerless 700 is what I was looking into. I know they are used in belt driven mowers and some riders. I know that in order to get the speed I would need I would probably have to put a big pulley on the engine and a little pulley on the peerless to help speed it up a little. I do landscaping and use a couple belt driven 36in mowers that use peerless trannys. I know if you take the grease out and put real gear oil in it they last a long time for kart use. I have seen some on ebay and craigslist for around 50-100 bucks. worth it if I can actually make it work right.

Doc Sprocket

Reaction score