Newbie Learning the Kart Ropes. Lots of Questions...HELP!?

higgypoo

Reaction score
Hey all. New here to the forum. I'm excited to start reading and learning as much as I can from many more experience people than myself. This is my first project...heck I don't even own a welder yet. So, there is a lot of learning and discovery going on. I'd like to explain the build my son and I have been designing on paper so far and see if I could get some help with some newbie questions, so if you have time to answer, talk to me like a 3 year old so I can follow :D Thanks in advance!!!

GOALS:​

1. Quiet
  2. Cart weight with batt (150lbs) and carry me (200lbs) for total carry weight of (350 lbs)
  3. 35mph
  4. 30 min drive time

Performance Parts list:​

Motor: 72V 3000 watt brushless DC 6500rpm max This motor and ESC
Speed controller: packaged with motor
Sprocket / gears: 11 tooth : 54 tooth
Battery (option 1): 72v 40ah 0-3000W Lithium Ion
or
Battery (option 2): 12v 8ah (x6) 0-3000W rechargeable SLA Neptune
Tire size: 12.75” diameter total

Questions:​

1) Is my gear ratio correct for a slightly Gear ratio correct for slightly higher speed? I want more speed than torque..
2) Is the battery / motor combination going to work? Am I missing something there?
3) Does the speed controller do what a solenoid would otherwise do or do I need both?
4) Battery connection wire gauge? I was thinking 6 gauge..is that overkill?
5) will 1" conduit will be robust enough for a frame? I think with enough bracing it could, but want other opinions.
6) does anyone know of a good step by step guide to building one of these? otherwise, I'm gonna wing it haha.

Thanks again! Can't wait to hear from you all.

madprofessor

"Loose Cannon Creations"
Reaction score