New Build - Taking Advice

Panzu

Reaction score
Here we go, I've officially started my go-kart journey. I'm very new to this and would like any extra advice you guys have.

My kart is going to be ridden along the street and on grassy areas. I'm thinking 12" or 13" tires with 6" rims should be good for me. Are normal street tires fine for my use as I linked below?

I think I'm going to go for a 6:1 gear ratio, I think this is a solid middle ground and won't be too aggressive to start out.

Can someone look at what I'm planning to buy and let me know what clutch they recommend? For a 6:1 ratio it needs to be a 12T clutch because the sprocket that comes with the live axle kit is 72T.

Here are the parts I'm planning to buy let me know what you guys think:
Wheels
Tires (Let me know if these are good for my use)
Engine (Is it worth spending the extra $35 to get the pro setup?)
Live Axle Kit

I already have a frame, seat, steering setup, etc... I think those are just the main things I need to really upgrade my kart. What do you guys think about all of this? Any suggestions would be very helpful, thanks!

Denny

Canned Monster
Reaction score
Seems like you have a solid plan. If you are not handy with engines (knowledge, tools) then go with the tillotson. I myself am not partial to the hemi headed engines unless running a blower and nitromethane.
I much rather prefer a wedge head for making power. But it seems like you have a great workable plan. The only thing I don’t know about is the tires, as I have no experience with them.

panchothedog

Reaction score
Wish you would have included a picture of your kart. If you are not an experienced engine builder then you can't go wrong with the Tillotson.
Quality engine. All else looks good for building a small wheeled kart.
do you have incidentals, like throttle cables, brake linkage, kill switch ect.

Kartin’ kid

Reaction score
My kart is going to be ridden along the street and on grassy areas.