I need help on my driving couch!

Electric-Couch-Man

Reaction score
So I posted this on the general go kart forum too, but here is just a little bit of background 😅
My name is Ethen, and I'm currently a university student studying mechanical engineering and loving it! Three years ago, in high school, I had the idea to make a couch drive because I couldn't afford a car. My community helped me fund the concept through gofundme, which wouldn't have been possible without their help. Through lots of trial and error, I was able to make it come to life! As I left home and high school, it had broken and was lost to the landfill. Now I'm back and have a whole new idea of how to make it better than ever! I have done all the research on what parts and electronics I'll need to make it faster than before and wireless. I have checked and double-checked the math, and I have an estimated cost of everything to make this dream a reality once again. I've looked at sooo many of the forums on here for help and I've gotten a lot of answers because it's pretty close to a go kart!

So I'm planning on using a 48V 2000W motor off Amazon and I think that'll work okay. We're looking at about 400 lbs on the higher end for all the weight and I think that the motor can do that alright. It'll probably be about a 5:1 gear ratio. I'm also planning on making it wireless and controlled by an xbox controller hooked up to a raspberry pi. I think having 4 12V 35Ah batteries (the kind they use for mobility scooters) and then an extra battery for the raspberry pi + a servo motor for turning. The biggest thing I don't know is if a raspberry pi would be able to control the 48v motor or if it would fry the raspberry pi... I don't really know anything about the raspberry pi or those kinds of things yet. Maybe someone could help? Feel free to ask more questions if you need clarification hahaha