How to weld better

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobertD

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Good suggestion by mikeandike to include a welding forum. I am thinking that you can post your welding questions, your general building questions, etc. Stuff like, "is this a good weld?" Is this what you all think is a good idea, or un-needed?

So, if anyone has suggestions on expanding, or contracting the scope of this forum, let us know!

TraderJack

Reaction score
Welding Tip

I've been welding with a MIG for about 2 years now. I learned to stick weld years ago but wanted to do something different. Stick welders just butcher thin metals. It's almost impossible to weld on sheet metal with a stick welder. I can weld any thickness up to 1/2 inch steel with my MIG.

So here's a tip: Never underestimate the value of preparing the metal surfaces prior to beginning your weld. Make sure that all oil, dirt, grime and rust has been removed. I use a wire brush attachment that fits on an electric drill just like a bit. I make sure that I take the time to thoroughly "brighten" all the surfaces that are to be welded. It's not a bad idea to similarly clean the spot where the ground clamp is going to be attached.

This will help no matter what type welder one uses.

-Jack

mikeandike

Reaction score
I just started stick welding yesterday :). i find it very amusing. Once i get good at stick i'll move onto mig then onto tig (i have access to all of them). All i was doing was welding beads down a big 2 or 2 1/2" pipe 1/4" thick so it looked like a tree trunk. i was having a little trouble starting a new rod otherwise it went pretty good.

RobertD

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
yeah it's all about getting that stick started. When you start mig it's going to mess with you -- since you don't move the gun toward the work you'll be pushing the gun onto the work a lot. I find it hard to go back and forth because of the two styles. Have fun with it!

Reaction score